Want to build your own knowledgebase?
Each LibraryH3lp subscription includes unlimited independent internal or public-facing knowledgebases (FAQs).



Search the LibraryH3lp Knowledge Base

 

 


How do I buddy operators so they can see and chat with each other?

1337 views   |   Last updated on Feb 14, 2017    staffing

 

If you'd like to buddy other librarians (or queues) within your own LibraryH3lp account, it is probably simplest to use the Manage Contacts tool in the admin dashboard so that you can easily take care of both sides of the buddy relationship at once, for any or all users and queues in your own account.  

The Manage Contacts tool is found in within the controls for each user in the Users tab in the Admin dashboard. This lets you control all your users' buddy lists in great detail. One of the most import things to understand about Manage contacts is that the user's current contacts are shown when the user is initially selected. Perform additional actions to change their current buddy list. If you de-select a contact, that contact will be un-buddied.

Manage Contacts is a very powerful tool that is most commonly used for one of three functions: (1) buddying a newly-created user with all the other users, and all the other users with the new user, (2) buddying all the users with each other, or (3) buddying users with queues.

Users will see their new buddy lists on their next login. Also, users who were logged in at the time of the buddying will not appear on other users' buddy lists until they themselves logout/login.

Buddying a new user with all the other users, and all the other users with the new user

  1. Select the new user and click Manage Contacts.
  2. Select all of the other users.
  3. Reciprocal should be checked by default. You want Reciprocal enabled.
  4. Select Make It So.

Buddying all your users with each other

Be cautious with the Comprehensive checkbox if you are working with an active service (as opposed to a bunch of new users). If your users have arranged their own custom groups in their buddy lists, it is very easy for you to reset those with the Comprehensive checkbox. Go user-by-user if in doubt.

  1. Select any user and click Manage Contacts.
  2. Select all of the other users.
  3. Select Comprehensive. This is off by default and you want it enabled (see caution above).
  4. Reciprocal should be checked by default. You want Reciprocal enabled.
  5. Select Make It So.

Buddying users with queues

With your queues buddied, your staff can easily see the status of the queues across your entire service right in their buddy list, regardless of the chat client they use. And, they can IM those queues directly. This may be a handy way to check to make sure another queue is able to receive a transfer.

Be cautious with the Comprehensive checkbox if you are working with an active service (as opposed to a bunch of new users). If your users have arranged their own custom groups in their buddy lists, it is very easy for you to reset those with the Comprehensive checkbox. Go user-by-user if in doubt.

  1. Select any user and click Manage Contacts.
  2. Leave the User Buddies column as-is (do not de-select any users).
  3. Highly recommended: add a group name for the queues (example: Queues) so that your users will be able to tell the queue buddies from the regular user buddies in their buddy lists.
  4. Select all the queues, or just the desired queue(s).
  5. Select Comprehensive if you want this to apply to all of your users.
  6. Reciprocal should be checked by default. You want Reciprocal enabled.
  7. Select Make It So.

About adding groups

Notice that when populating Groups, all of your selections (checkboxes) become unselected. Clicking Make It So with the checkboxes unselected will un-buddy that queue or user from the others. So make sure to go back and re-select the checkboxes after editing your groups.

If you prefer, support can send you a spreadsheet of your users, which you can send back with your desired groups populated. Then, we can set up your groups the way you'd like them. Email support@libraryh3lp.com for assistance.

Example

In the screenshot below, all the users will be buddied with each other AND all the users will be buddied with all the queues. All of the users will also be organized into buddy list groups reflecting their department or area of expertise. Also, all the queues will be placed in a group called queues.

manage contacts screenshot showing all the options

 



 

 

 

Topics