Want to build your own knowledgebase?
Each LibraryH3lp subscription includes unlimited independent internal or public-facing knowledgebases (FAQs).



Search the LibraryH3lp Knowledge Base

 

 


How can join two subscriptions for our collaborative chat service?

108 views   |   Last updated on Feb 14, 2017    collaboration

 

We will outline the steps to fully combine two separate subscriptions for a collaborative service. BOTH account admins will wind up with full admin permissions in each account. It is also possible to join two accounts and provide only one admin with full control of the other OR to do less complete account integrations. Please contact us if you'd like to build a collaboration that is not yet outlined explicitly in our documentation so that we can assist.

In this example, we will effectively merge Blue Library with Red Library.

Step 1: Link the accounts by giving each admin permissions in the other account

Part A: Give the other admin permissions in your own account.

  • Sign into the admin dashboard as the Blue Library admin (username blue).
  • Head to the Permissions and ACLs tool (its icon is a padlock).
  • Select the Administrators group.
  • Select the Collaborators tab and enter the admin username for the other account (username red).
  • Now the Red Library admin can assign their own staff to your (Blue Library's) queues and do all other admin-related tasks within your account.

Part B: Have the other admin give you permissions in their account.

  • The admin for the other account (username red) should sign into the admin dashboard.
  • They should go to the Permissions and ACLs tool (its icon is a padlock).
  • They should select Administrators group.
  • They should select the Collaborators tab and enter the admin username for your other account (username blue).
  • That's it! Now you (the blue admin) can assign your Blue Library staff to Red Library's queues; you also have admin-equivalent permissions in the Red Library's account.

With both sides done, both admins can fully manage both accounts, and staff can be flexibly assigned to each others' queues. But we still need to do a bit more work to make things nice for the users.

Step 2: Give all users permissions to transfer across accounts and access profiles

Now that both sides have full admin permissions to both accounts, either admin can set up all of the users.

Part A: Give your own users read access to one or more folders in the other account. They'll need read access to all folders that contain any user or queue that they should be able to transfer to or access profiles on. Often, this simply means that they need read access to the one main folder.

  • Head into the Permissions and ACLs tool again as the Blue Library admin, username blue.
  • Select the Everyone group. Everyone is a built-in group that represents all of your users, including those that lack any special admin permissions.
  • Select the Permissions tab.
  • Select the desired folder in the red account: red's Folder.
  • Click Grant for read access. Now, your users (Blue Library users) will be able to transfer chats to Red Library's users and queues.

Part B: Give the other account's users read access to one or more folders in your own account.

  • Head into the Permissions and ACLs tool again (you are the Blue Library admin, username blue).
  • You should see two new groups: red/Administrators and red/Everyone.
  • Select the red/Everyone group. This is the Everyone group in the Red Library account.
  • Select the Permissions tab.
  • Select your main account folder: blue's Folder.
  • Click Grant for read access. Now, Red Library's users will be able to transfer chats to Blue Library's users and queues.
example of granting permissions to the other account's Everyone group

Screenshot showing granting users of the other account (red/Everyone group) read-only access to the main folder in your own account.

Step 3: Buddy all users with each other

Now that everyone has the ability to transfer chats across both account's users and queues, it would be very nice to have them all buddied with each other so that they'll all show up on each others' contacts list in their chat client. Either admin can take care of this for all users.

Please read our detailed guide about the Manage Contacts tool in order to complete this step. Note that you can use Groups to keep the buddy lists organized; for example, all of Blue Library's users can be in a Blue Library buddy group and all of Red Library's users can be in a Red Library buddy group.

That's it!

Phew, you're done! But there's still more you can do if you'd like. With your neat merged accounts, you can also think about creating a shared conference room for all of the users, and/or creating shared canned messages.

Topics